Add your deal, information or promotional text

The Vineyard

The wines of Château Beauchêne come from exceptional terroirs located to the north and south of the city of Orange.

To the south, the alluvial terraces of rolled quartz pebbles and sandy red clay enhance our Châteauneuf-du-Pape Red and White as well as our Côtes-du-Rhône "Le Terroir".

To the north, our Côtes du Rhône Villages and Côtes du Rhône, express the typicality of the “Coniacian” limestone terraces dating from the secondary era (65M years), the sandy-stony hillsides or even the gravelly alluvial terraces. brought by the river Aygues.

In order to respond to climate changes and drought, we have been, for 40 years, renewed part of the vineyard while reinforcing the typicity of the wines of Château Beauchêne with grape varieties expressing even better the strength, finesse and elegance that characterize our style.

CELLAR AND VINIFICATION


The vinification cellar, partly underground, allows the development of our different vintages, under ideal technical conditions, adapted to the expression of our different terroirs.

The old cellar of the Château,
vaulted, benefits from an ideal humidity and regularity of temperature for the ageing of wines in barrels (barrels and demi-muids).

the slow and continuous penetration
of oxygen through the wood (redox) improves the gustatory qualities, the expression of the aromatic potential and stabilizes the colouring matters, while softening the tannins.

Environnement and HEV (High environnemental Value)

The character of a wine estate is due as much to the history of its terroir as to the personality of the winegrowers who shaped it.

Attached to their land, the several generations of winegrowers in the Bernard Family have always known that the vines must be looked after in order for them to have a long life, and being most suitable for optimal quality. Some of the family's plots date from 1901 just after the phylloxera crisis. Allowing a vine to express itself without forcing it, with a fair balance between the characteristics of the terroir and the capacities of the grape variety, is the only way to preserve the true richness of a vineyard through the generations.

We have been working intensively for several years on agronomic methods that take into account the environment and health: preservation of the ecosystem and its biodiversity (grass cover, fauna / flora refuge areas), installation of apiaries which serve as ecological indicators. and honey harvest, controlled protection of the vineyard, absence of irrigation and control of soil fertility.

The HEV (High Environmental Value) certification is an extension of this work. It promotes and shows credit to our good environmental practices. This is a voluntary process, resulting from the ecological national commitments by the French Government. Level 3, the most demanding, was certified in December 2018.

The family makes a point to use as little phytosanitary products as possible; Château Beauchêne is fortunate to be located in a region blessed by the Gods where Sun and Mistral improve the climate and reduce the need for treatment.

Search

English

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Le Vignoble

Les Vins de Château Beauchêne proviennent de terroirs exceptionnels situés au nord et au sud de la ville d’Orange.

Au sud, les Terrasses alluvionnaires de galets de quartz roulés et d’argile rouge sableuse subliment nos Châteauneuf-du-Pape rouges et blanc ainsi que notre Côtes-du-Rhône « Le Terroir ».

Au nord, nos Côtes-du-Rhône Villages  et Côtes du Rhône, expriment la typicité des terrasses de calcaires « coniaciens » datant de l’ère secondaire (65M d’années), des sols remaniés sable-caillouteux de collines ou encore des terrasses alluvionnaires graveleuses apportées par la rivière d’Aygues.

Afin de répondre aux changements climatiques et à la sécheresse, nous avons, depuis 40 ans, renouvelé une partie du vignoble tout en renforçant la typicité des vins du Château Beauchêne avec un encépagement exprimant encore mieux la force, la finesse et l’élégance qui caractérisent notre style.

Cave et Vinification


La cave de vinification, en partie enterrée, permet l’élaboration de nos différentes cuvées, dans des conditions techniques idéales, adaptées à l’expression de nos différents terroirs.

Les anciens chais du Château, voûtés, bénéficient d’une hygrométrie et d’une régularité de température idéales pour l’élevage des vins en barriques (barriques et demi-muids).

La pénétration lente et continue de l’oxygène à travers le bois, (oxydoréduction) développe les qualités gustatives, l’expression du potentiel aromatique et stabilise les matières colorantes, tout en assouplissant les tanins.

Environnement et HVE (Haute Valeur Environnementale)

Le caractère d’un Domaine Viticole tient autant à l’histoire de son terroir qu’à la personnalité des vignerons qui l’ont façonné.

Ancrés sur leur terroir, les générations de vignerons de la Famille Bernard qui se sont succédées ont toujours su qu’il fallait ménager la vigne pour qu’elle ait une longue vie, les vielles vignes étant garantes d’une qualité optimale. Certaines parcelles de la famille datent de 1901 juste après la crise du phylloxéra. Laisser s’exprimer une vigne sans la forcer, dans un juste équilibre entre les caractéristiques du terroir et les capacités du cépage, est la seule façon de préserver à travers les générations la vraie richesse d’un vignoble.

Nous travaillons intensément depuis plusieurs années sur des méthodes agronomiques qui tiennent compte de l’environnement et de la santé : préservation de l’écosystème et de sa biodiversité (enherbement, zones refuges faune/flore), installation de ruchers qui servent d’indicateurs écologiques et récolte de miel, protection contrôlée du vignoble, absence d’irrigation et contrôle de la fertilité des sols.

La certification HVE est le prolongement de ce travail effectué. Elle permet une reconnaissance et une valorisation de ces bonnes pratiques environnementales. C’est une démarche volontaire, issue du grenelle de l’environnement, reconnue par l’état. Le niveau 3, le plus exigeant, a été certifié en décembre 2018.

La famille met un point d’honneur à utiliser le moins possible de produits phytosanitaires, en privilégiant les moins agressifs; Château Beauchêne a la chance de se trouver dans une région bénie des Dieux où Soleil et Mistral assainissent le climat et réduisent les besoins de traitement.

Search

français